Bach: For All the Generations

Post sensacional mostrando como um compositor como Bach usa diversos mecanismos da linguagem musical para enfatizar uma ideia!

Catapulting into Classical

bach

Sometimes when I’m practicing my current choir music, Bach’s Magnificat, I have to sit there and shake my head.  At first, it was a case of “How on Earth am I going to do this?!” Over time, however, lots of time, I’ve arrived at a new question: “How on Earth did he do this?!”

So one day, armed with my own score and a pencil, I decided to try to figure out exactly what he was up to in those lines of music.

I think it’s highly appropriate that the first thing I saw as I opened to Omnes generationes was an instruction from my choir director that I had transcribed:

Breathe as needed.  Observe rests.

Sound advice.

I decided to tackle the most obvious component of this movement to see what Bach did.  The entire piece consists of two words, “omnes generationes” [all the generations] repeated again and…

Ver o post original 349 mais palavras

Deixe um comentário

